It Happened To Be Today


Today I wanted
the need
not to want
to feel without thinking of
the feeling
I wanted to see
a creation of love
one that acts
and then reacts first
for the benefit of me
asking all questions later
much later
no I needed for you to relinquish
any questions at all
Today I needed you to be
everything I wished you could be
just for a brief moment
to be held in the arms bearing
enduring comfort
Today I needed to be pampered
not in a physical sense
but mentally
to rebuild strength
Today I didnt want to ask
for you to neglect your priorities
I needed you to
I needed your focus
to be on me
I needed…
you too
I needed you to see what I needed
and be it
Today I lost it
That comfort
in every imaginable way
Today I was out of my mind
negative on negative
equals negative
but a positive can change the whole
equation
for some
math is hard to understand
but its important to know the numbers
always add up
Today I was looking
for you to be my light
and instead I received a compounded
darkness
so forgive me for being me
and I’ll forgive you for being you
instead of what i needed you to be
In the end I guess we are all human
so forgive me for being selfish too
I understand that there are somethings
others cannot see
be it willing, blindness or….
no matter how much
we need and want them
no matter when it happens
we all need a
Today
we want
Todays
so forgive us for trespassing
when we do and we don’t

3 responses to “It Happened To Be Today

Leave a Reply

